EVENTS – Cavalia Hong Kong: A Spectacular Big Top Equestrian Show 1


Cavalia is a grand-scale Big Top spectacle featuring a mix of equestrian and performing arts, multimedia and special effects, acrobatics, dance, aerial stunts and live music.

qpzezLP.png (1501×579)

Already enjoyed by over four million spectators around the world, the show – involving 40 horses and riders – finally makes it to Hong Kong this April.

Created in Canada by Normand Latourelle, co-founder of Cirque du Soleil and supported by the Jockey Club, the show will take place in the world’s largest touring tent – right on Hong Kong Island’s waterfront.

7VZtTQs.png (1170×592)

Facts:

  • The 40 artists, acrobats, dancers and riders are from Canada, France, Belgium, the United States, Morocco, Australia, Spain, South Africa and Sweden.
  • The troupe also includes 5 musicians (guitar, keyboard, bass, drums, and cello) and a singer.
  • For every performance, the band leader gives more than 300 music cues to his band.
  • The 35 square-metre musicians’ platform is perched 4 meters high, behind a colossal screen.
  • The horses annually consume 17,500 bales of hay, 16,550 kilograms of grain and 795 kilograms of carrots.
  • Spacious showers are installed in the stables to groom the four-legged stars.
  • Large windows inside each stall allow the equine stars to see and communicate with his neighbours.
  • The White Big Top peaks at 35 meters, equivalent to a ten-story building. 6,630 square meters of canvas were used to create the White Big Top, which spans more than 2,440 square meters.
  • 2,500 tons of sand and dirt (100 truckloads) are required to build the stage.
  • 120 000 litres of recycled water are pumped into the stage to create the magical lake.

Tickets start from $395 for adults, or HK$245 for students. Available at HK Ticketing or call 31 288 288.

Showdates:

  • 31 Mar 2015 (Tue) at 8pm
  • 2 Apr 2015 (Thu) at 8pm
  • 3 Apr 2015 (Fri) at 8pm
  • 4 Apr 2015 (Sat) at 12noon & 7pm
  • 5 Apr 2015 (Sun) at 12noon & 7pm
  • 8 Apr 2015 (Wed) at 8pm
  • 9 Apr 2015 (Thu) at 8pm
  • 10 Apr 2015 (Fri) at 8pm (Private Only)
  • 11 Apr 2015 (Sat) at 2:30pm & 8pm
  • 12 Apr 2015 (Sun) at 1pm & 6:30pm
  • 14 Apr 2015 (Tue) at 8pm
  • 15 Apr 2015 (Wed) at 8pm
  • 16 Apr 2015 (Thu) at 8pm
  • 17 Apr 2015 (Fri) at 8pm
  • 18 Apr 2015 (Sat) at 2:30pm & 8pm
  • 19 Apr 2015 (Sun) at 1pm
  • 22 Apr 2015 (Wed) at 8pm
  • 23 Apr 2015 (Thu) at 8pm
  • 24 Apr 2015 (Fri) at 8pm
  • 25 Apr 2015 (Sat) at 2:30pm & 8pm
  • 26 Apr 2015 (Sun) at 1pm & 6:30pm

Visit the website or follow Cavalia on Facebook and Twitter.


  • maggiechk

    Is this a press release?